Scotland women’s squad announced to face France

The Scotland women’s squad to play France in Paris has been named as the Scots continue their build up to the EuroHockey Qualifier in Glasgow this summer.

They first meet on Thursday 13 June at 18:00; then on Saturday 15 June at 18:00; before the last meeting on Sunday 16 June at 11:00, with all matches held at Reps Île-De-France.

Scotland just completed a successful series against Canada in Glasgow that saw them leapfrog the Canadians to 16th in the world rankings. The visit to Paris will be a tough test for the Scots with France in the latter stages of preparations for a home Olympics.

Scotland women’s head coach, Chris Duncan, said, “The players have worked seriously hard over the last few months and the individual and collective growth we have seen in training has been significant. Now, after a really pleasing series against Canada, we are looking forward to getting back into competitive action again quickly against France.

“They are an excellent side, with multiple threats, who are one month out from a home Olympics, so will be peaking and a brilliant challenge for us. The difference between a home series and away series is vast, and we had numerous new caps against Canada, so this is another new experience for so many players in our group to manage the challenges of playing abroad in a different climate.

“Our target is to continue preparing for the European Qualifiers in August and continue to develop and embed our playing style and France will be a great test for us to do this”



Amber Murray (Watsonians HC)

Bronwyn Shields (Clydesdale Western)

Ellie Mackenzie (Loughborough University)

Ellie Wilson (Watsonians HC)

Emily Dark (Watsonians HC)

Eve Pearson (Grossflottbeker THGC)

Frances Lonergan (Western Wildcats)

Heather McEwan (Royal Victory)

Jennifer Eadie (Wimbledon HC)

Jessica Ross (The University of Edinburgh)

Katherine Birch (Durham University)

Katherine Holdgate (Watsonians HC)

Katie Swanson (The University of Edinburgh)

Lunjika Nyirenda (The University of Edinburgh)

Maddie Boyes (Durham University)

Millie Steiger (Clydesdale Western)

Ruth Blaikie (The University of Edinburgh)

Rebecca Birch (Ben Rhydding)

Sarah Jamieson (Watsonians HC)

Sophie Hinds (The University of Edinburgh)


Back to top