Celebrating the hockey community at the Scottish Hockey Awards

It was a night of fantastic celebration at the Scottish Hockey Awards as the hockey community came together to celebrate the brilliant contributions of players, officials, coaches and volunteers across Scotland.

The prestigious ceremony was held at the Village Hotel in Glasgow with award winning stand-up comedian, Susie McCabe, as host leading the celebrations.

Watsonians Ladies were crowned team of the year, and also took the winners’ £500 voucher from award sponsors New Balance, for New Balance team wear.

The Coach of the Year award, sponsored by Bruntsfield Sports, went to Vishal Marwaha for a spectacular season at the helm of Western Wildcats men.

The Community Club of the Year, sponsored by Clayton Hotel Glasgow, was scooped up by Uddingston Hockey Club due to the tremendous impact the club has on its local community.

Meanwhile, for their outstanding approach to inclusion, Hillhead was deservedly awarded the Inclusion Award, sponsored by Gallagher Insurance, Risk Management, and Consulting.

There was more success for the amazing award winning Scottish Masters O60s Women’s team when they won Masters Team of the Year, sponsored by Bell Ingram.

The fantastic Jamie Telfer won Official of the Year, sponsored by the Scottish Thistles Masters Hockey Club, a well-earned success for one of Scotland’s best umpires.

The tremendous contribution of Arthur Robertson of Falkirk and Linlithgow Hockey Club was celebrated when he won Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Whos the Umpire.

Watsonians’ talented forward Sarah Jamieson was awarded Player of the Year, sponsored by the University of Strathclyde, after a sensational goal-laden season for the club. Meanwhile Rob Field was announced as International Player of the Year, sponsored by QTV, after the public overwhelmingly voted for the Scotland men’s international.

The amazing Eilidh Campbell deservedly won the Spirit of Hockey Award, sponsored by Kingfisher Lighting, for an exceptional amount of excellent work at the University of Edinburgh.

After an amazing year for Brave, it was Thunder Emerging Girls who were awarded the Brave Award, sponsored by Ossian Media.

Finally, for his outstanding contribution to hockey for over 50 years, Neil Menzies was commemorated with the Derek Forsyth Award.

Scottish Hockey CEO, Barry Cawte, said, “It was a great night at the awards, and an excellent way to celebrate the amazing people across the whole sport who really help make the hockey community what it is. Bringing back the awards was something we were really excited to do, and to bring it back in such an exciting format was brilliant. It was amazing to see everyone enjoy themselves so much.

“Of course we congratulate all of the winners, but everyone involved should be proud of their achievements. The stories behind all the nominations are a true inspiration to us all.”

“It’s an important part of our vision to build on the fantastic relationships we have with our members, and partners, and there’s no better way to do this than through an annual awards event.”


Club Team of the Year (Sponsored by New Balance)

  • Winner – Watsonians Ladies


  • Shetland Ladies
  • Hillhead Men’s 2s


Coach of the Year (Sponsored by Bruntsfield Sports)

  • Winner – Vishal Marwaha (Western Wildcats men)


  • Ewan Campbell (Hillhead men)
  • Keith Smith (Watsonians Ladies)


Community Club of the Year (Sponsored by Clayton Hotel Glasgow)

  • Winner – Uddingston Hockey Club


  • Hillhead Hockey Club
  • Clydesdale Hockey Club


Inclusion Award (Sponsored by Gallagher Insurance, Risk Management, and Consulting)

  • Winner – Hillhead Hockey Club

Nominees – Uddingston Hockey Club


Masters Team of the Year (Sponsored by Bell Ingram)

  • Winner – Scottish Hockey Masters Women’s 60s


  • Scottish Hockey Masters Men’s 70s


Official of the Year (Sponsored by the Scottish Thistles Masters Hockey Club)

  • Winner – Jamie Telfer


  • Sarah Wilson


Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by Whos the Umpire)

  • Winner – Arthur Robertson (Falkirk and Linlithgow Hockey Club)


  • Gordon McFarlane (Ellon Hockey Club)
  • James Moran (Western Wildcats)
  • Sarah Bell (Glasgow High Kelvinside Hockey Club)
  • Alan Meikle (Hillhead Hockey Club)
  • Duncan Service (Falkirk and Linlithgow Hockey Club)


Player of the Year (Sponsored by the University of Strathclyde)

  • Winner – Sarah Jamieson


  • Jamie Green
  • Fraser Moran
  • Keir Robb
  • Rob Harwood


Spirit of Hockey Award (Sponsored by Kingfisher Lighting) 

  • Winner – Eilidh Campbell


  • Ross McWilliams
  • Rottenrow BlueSox


International Player of the Year (Sponsored by QTV)

  • Winner – Rob Field


  • Amy Gibson
  • Amy Costello
  • Katie Robertson
  • Lee Morton
  • Andrew McConnell


The Brave Award (Sponsored by Ossian Media)

  • Winner – Thunder Emerging Girls


  • Lightning Aspiring Girls
  • Devils Aspiring Boys


The Derek Forsyth Award (for outstanding contribution to hockey)

  • Neil Menzies

Back to top